Sophisticated Ladies


Sophisticated Ladies is a musical revue based on the music of Duke Ellington, featuring "Take the "A" Train", "I'm Beginning to See the Light", "Hit Me With a Hot Note and Watch Me Bounce", "It Don't Mean a Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing)", "In a Sentimental Mood", "Sophisticated Lady", "Don't Get Around Much Anymore", "Satin Doll", and "I Got It Bad and That Ain't Good," among many others. The musical ran on Broadway in 1981.


Hinton Battle

Paula Kelly

Phyllis Hyman

Terri Klausner

Gregg Burge

Garry Q. Lewis

Calvin McRae

Leata Galloway

Lorraine Fields

Sophisticated Ladies Cheryl Baxter
  Sheri Cowart
  Karen McDonald
  Beth Bowles
  Jamilah Lucas
Sophisticated Gentlemen Eugene Flemming
  Michael Graham
  Lacy Darryl Phillips
  Roger Spivy
  Lloyd Culbreath
  Steve Marder


Director (screen) Clark Jones
Director (stage) Michael Smuin
Producer Ron Nicodemus
  Roger S. Berlind
  Manheim Fox
  Sondra Gilman
  Burton L. Litwin
  Louise Westerfaard
Executive Producer Bruce Brandwen
Music Duke Ellington
Musical Director Mercer Ellington
Choreography Donald McKayle
  Michael Smuin
Set Design Tony Walton
Costume Design Willa Kim


User Reviews of Sophisticated Ladies

high class